And The Winner Is…


We announced the winning design team, “Team Bridges,” a collaboration of 12 professionals from 10 companies and organizations. The announcement was made at a Statehouse news conference by Net Zero Vermont Co-CEOs Deb Sachs and Dan Jones.

About Team Bridges

Team Bridges is a purposeful blend of 12 professionals from 10 companies and organizations:

  • Roger Allbee, Former Secretary. Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets, Montpelier, VT
  • Jay Ancel, Partner, Black River Design Architects, Montpelier, VT
  • Vincent Appel, Of Possible Architectures (OPA). Brooklyn, New York
  • Douglas Cooper, Andrew Mellon Professor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Stefani Danes, Architect and Adjunct Professor, School of Architecture, Research Fellow,
  • Remaking Cities Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Archie Kasnet, Altenex, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Ethan Lay-Sleeper, Sasaki, Watertown, MA
  • Ken Millman. Sp!ke Advertising, Alburgh, VT
  • Michael Rushman, Land Strategies, Cabot, Vermont (Team Bridges contact.)
  • Janet Van Fleet, Studio Place Arts (SPA), Barre, Vermont
  • Robert White, GPI / Greenman-Pedersen, Inc., Portsmouth, NH

The winning design team is the result of a selection process that started in October with votes by more than 650 Montpelier residents, workers, and visitors at a pop-up Main Street gallery and online, along with a review by a technical committee to select five finalists. In January, live presentations by the five finalists were followed by a second round of voting with nearly seven hundred ballots and extended comments submitted. The $10,000 winner’s prize in the Sustainable Montpelier 2030 Design Competition is sponsored by NetZero Vermont with seed funding from five sponsors: AllEarth Renewables, Ben & Jerry’s, Vermont Creamery, National Life Group, and VSECU.

See Team Bridges winning design entry here.